Scare me

Scare me

I do love a good horror story. The creepier the better. I was raised on Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Peter Straub, H.P. Lovecraft … some of the masters of the genre. I’ve been scared by some of King’s work (Pet Cemetery and The Shining), found Lovecraft’s work fascinating, and enjoyed Koontz and Straub immensely.

There has only been one writer whose work has terrified me. Terrified, disgusted, fascinated, repulsed, and horrified me. I threw the book away from me at one point so that I could process exactly what I was reading. Too many awful things were happening too fast to digest. I needed to take a break so that I could sleep at night.

And, I loved every second.

8495705  “Endurance” by Jack Kilbourn (who also writes under J.A. Konrath)

Publishers Synopsis:

The bed and breakfast was hidden in the hills of West Virginia. Wary guests wondered how it could stay in business at such a creepy, remote location, especially with its bizarre, presidential decor and eccentric proprietor.With the event hotel for the national Iron Woman triathlon accidentally overbooked, competitor Maria was forced to stay at the Rushmore. But after checking into her room, she quickly realized she wasn’t alone. First her suitcase wasn’t where she put it. Then her cell phone was moved. Finally, she heard an odd creaking under the bed. Confusion quickly turned to fear, and fear to hysteria when she discovered the front door was barred and the windows were bricked over. There was no way out.One year later, four new female athletes have become guests of the Inn. Will they escape the horrors within its walls? Or will they join the many others who have died there, in ways too terrible to imagine?”

My official review:

Totally twisted and I totally loved it. The squick factor is high in this book, so if you are grossed out easily, you may want to skip lunch before reading!”

Like I stated, I’ve never been more scared reading a book. It’s a gory slaughterfest so if you like that sort of thing, you will love this! It’s sick and twisted in ways I would have never imagined until reading. He has taken what could have been a redundant plot (hillbilly torture) and given it a very original twist. This is not for the faint of heart!

Kilbourn’s other books are just as scary. There are a few compilations written with Blake Crouch who I am also a fan of and recommend if you are looking for something original.

The J.A. Konrath books I also recommend wholeheartedly. They are more of fun mystery, who-done-it, thriller books. Still incredibly well written and full of hilarious one-liners. The Jack Daniels series is a real favorite and a fun read for just about everyone.

Leave a Reply

