Valentine’s Day Imminent

Valentine’s Day Imminent

I just finished reading “Beautiful You” and my one thought is …

What the hell did I just read?

World Domination through vibrators? Women become sex zombies and leave men sex starved animals. Orgasms on just about every page that leave you cold, a rape scene written as humor. Apparently this is standard Palahniuk satirical fare. Definitely unsettling.

Onto the next …

18296159    “The Good Nurse – A True Story of Medicine, Madness and Murder” by Charles Graeber

Publisher’s Synopsis: After his December 2003 arrest, registered nurse Charlie Cullen was quickly dubbed “The Angel of Death” by the media. But Cullen was no mercy killer, nor was he a simple monster. He was a favorite son, husband, beloved father, best friend, and celebrated caregiver. Implicated in the deaths of as many as 300 patients, he was also perhaps the most prolific serial killer in American history.

I’m a huge fan of true crime! I love Ann Rule and the way she writes, but haven’t read anything by Charles Graeber so am looking forward to this.

*********************

Valentine’s Day is tomorrow. I’ve never been a huge fan of Valentine’s day. All day today I’ve been asked what my plans are for tomorrow and people seem surprised when I tell them I have no plans. My partner, K, has to work a 14+hour shift tomorrow and I volunteered to work and staff a bake sale. Not terribly romantic for either of us.                                                        Romance and love shouldn’t be singled out for one specific day, but should be expressed every single day.

Love is when K gets up at the crack of dawn to shovel and salt the driveway before work so I don’t have to worry about slipping or snow drifts.

Love is when she cleans the house on her day off so I don’t have to clean on mine.

Love is when I do the laundry on my day off so she doesn’t have to, and add the extra softener she likes.

Love is catching her eye across the room and having an entire conversation with one look.

Love is babying her when she is sick, making sure she has tissues and Vicks, and rubbing her feet while we watch TV.

Love is when she kisses me in the elevator at work; one kiss for each floor.

Love is our little nighttime ritual that neither one of us could sleep without.

Love is what I have every day, not just Valentine’s Day.

Leave a Reply

