Living Dead Girl

Living Dead Girl

After the nightmare that was “The Troop”, I decided to just plow into the next book in my queue without reading any sort of preview. My mistake.

2954411 “Living Dead Girl” by Elizabeth Scott.

Publisher’s Synopsis:
Once upon a time, I was a little girl who disappeared.
Once upon a time, my name was not Alice.
Once upon a time, I didn’t know how lucky I was.

When Alice was ten, Ray took her away from her family, her friends — her life. She learned to give up all power, to endure all pain. She waited for the nightmare to be over.
Now Alice is fifteen and Ray still has her, but he speaks more and more of her death. He does not know it is what she longs for. She does not know he has something more terrifying than death in mind for her.
This is Alice’s story. It is one you have never heard, and one you will never, ever forget.

*****

Oh this is bad. Marketed as a YA novel, I have no idea who rates and ranks these things. If this was a movie, this would fly past a R rating, past a NC-17 rating and past a XXX rating. I don’t know what’s past that, but this book would find a home there.

It’s fascinating is the same way that “A Child Called It” and “Room” were fascinating – like a horrific  car crash that you can’t look away from. I’m halfway through the book (thankfully it’s a quick read) and have to finish it. I can’t NOT finish it. I just don’t know how much more I can take.

I need a fluff piece after this.

Leave a Reply

