Next in Queue

Next in Queue

“The Namesake” turned out to be a beautifully written narrative that I enjoyed. I wish I was able to learn more about Gogol’s parents but that was not what the book was about – it was a narrative of his life. He fought against his unique name and naming circumstances, his family and cultural heritage only to come full circle at the end of the book. Well written but a bit predictable.

Next up:

21686 “Shutter Island” by Dennis Lehane
Publisher’s Synposis:
The year is 1954. U.S. Marshal Teddy Daniels and his new -partner, Chuck Aule, have come to Shutter Island, home of Ashecliffe Hospital for the Criminally Insane, to investigate the disappearance of a patient. Multiple-murderess Rachel Solando is loose somewhere on this barren island, despite having been kept in a locked cell under constant surveillance. As a killer hurricane bears relentlessly down on them, a strange case takes on even darker, more sinister shades–with hints of radical experimentation, horrifying surgeries, and lethal countermoves made in the cause of a covert shadow war. No one is going to escape Shutter Island unscathed, because nothing at Ashecliffe Hospital is remotely what it seems

I skipped over the next book in my queue to read this and am so glad I did! I rarely give five stars on Goodreads but felt that this book warranted it. Five stars means, for me, that I can and will reread this book with the same enjoyment I had the first time. I finished the book in an afternoon as I got sucked in right away. The character development is well done, the scenery is perfect and the twists in the book keep coming!

The plot keeps you right there with Teddy up to the very end when all is revealed .. or is it?

I found out this was apparently a movie starring Leonardo DiCaprio – and that it did the book justice. I don’t know that I will ever see the movie but am a little curious now.

Leave a Reply

