World BiPolar Day

World BiPolar Day

It’s the 2nd annual World BiPolar Awareness Day!

isbd.org

What does that even mean? We are celebrating Vincent Van Gogh’s birthday! No one knows for sure if he was bipolar, but he was posthumously diagnosed.

WBD Logo

What is bipolar to me?

It’s a part of who I am, but not the sum of all my parts. I’m bipolar, but I am also a partner, a daughter, a sister, a friend.

I love to hear a good joke, but can’t tell you one to save my life. I love to laugh, and cry at the sappiest movies. I’m sentimental and loyal, and stand up for my friends more than I stand up for myself.

Coming out as gay way much much easier than coming out as bipolar. I still cringe when someone makes a joke – I’me never sure what to say.

I’m passionate, and compassionate. I get lost in my head sometimes but I find my way back with the help of my meds, my doctor and therapy.

I was diagnosed in the early 2000’s and am thankful. I am thankful for my diagnosis, for my meds, for the help I have access to.

I am thankful.

Leave a Reply

