Dilemma

Dilemma

I have a dilemma. I’ve written about the nutty, meth addicted, moonshine drinking family on my mother’s side, but my father isn’t exempt by any means.

He has a batshit crazy sister. Mental illness runs in my family but she has her very own branch on the family tree.

My dilemma is this – she has decided she is a writer. By decided I mean that she has written two books and self published them. She’s managed to convince most of the family to buy these books and this is her only source of income.

My mother has given me a copy of both books. She knows, vaguely that I blog about what I read but has never asked if I’ve read or blogged about these books.

The first book is the story of my father’s family, and my aunt’s childhood. My father comes from a large Irish Catholic family of eight kids and his mother died when he was ten. His father remarried to the proverbial wicked stepmother. The kids had it rough, really rough.

From what I’ve been told, the book is lies. I don’t know that I want to know her perception of her childhood but at the same time, I don’t want to miss the opportunity to learn about a part of my father’s life he is unable to talk about.

Hence my dilemma.

4 thoughts on “Dilemma

  1. I think if my brother and I wrote about our childhood, other than the names of the characters being the same, the “facts” and the stories would be completely different. I’m not sure that either would be the true story, even if we both were trying to tell the truth. I also don’t know if they’d make a good read.
    Screwed up families are hard to write about from the inside, and I’m not sure I’d want to read my brother’s version of stuff that happened.
    Perhaps your partner could read them first and help you figure out what to do with them?

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

