With You (Tear Asunder 0.5)

With You (Tear Asunder 0.5)

18812737 “With You” by Nashoda Rose

Synopsis: Sculpt is an illegal fighter.
He’s also the lead singer of a local rock band.
No one knows his real name.
And from the moment I met him, he made me forget mine.
In order to convince Sculpt to give me self-defense lessons, I had to follow his one rule—no complaining or he’d walk. I didn’t think it would be a problem. I could handle a few bruises. What I hadn’t anticipated was landing on my back with Sculpt on top of me and my entire body burning up for him.
I tried to ignore it.
I failed of course. And having a hot, tattooed badass on top of me week after week, acting completely immune to what he was doing to my body—it was frustrating as hell, so I broke his rule—I complained.
Then he kissed me.

Author’s Note: This novella is Sculpt and Emily’s beginning and how they met. It is an extra and not required to be read before “Torn from You”. Their story and what happens to them is the novel “Torn from You”.

*******

1 out of 5 stars

I know that I said previously that one of my reasons for not reviewing the books that I didn’t like was to save time, but this one is an exception.

Because it’s so wonderfully, awfully, just plain terribly bad! So bad that it’s almost good! Well, no, let’s not get carried away.

So, the premise. Emily was attacked and has decided to seek out some training on how to defend herself. The best place to do that is in a MMA ring, right? That makes more sense than going to a self-defense class? Anyway, she and her friend go to this gym where the fighters train and it’s there that she sees him.

Sculpt. Seriously, what kind of name is Sculpt? I’ve read the JR Ward series of the Black Dagger Brotherhood and loved them all, even the terrible names (Wrath, Torhment, etc) so I understand the need to create a name that fits the character. So Sculpt. I get that he’s a mountain of sculpted muscle, but that name has to be hard to work into a conversation.

Sculpt is the ultimate trope. Badass, tattooed, fighter, musician, biker, loner, alpha male … I think that’s it. The only things that are missing are vampire/werewolf/shapeshifter/undead something. Maybe wings.

So Emily sees him and is instantly in love. No need to actually get to know him as he is panty-droppingly gorgeous, she just is instant love. Him not so much, at least until she tells him how she feels and he gets all kinds of crazy possessive, telling her things like, “Once I take you, no one else will have you. ” Not a direct quote, but you get the drift. He DOESN’T EVEN TELL HER HIS REAL NAME until after they have sex (which is, predictably mind blowingly wonderful for both of them, never mind that she is a virgin.)

And, our Emily is a VIRGIN, of course she is. I’m so tired of this tired story playing out the same way over and over in multiple books. The not-traditionally-sexy girl virgin (does she always have to be dumb as a post?) gets the super hot guy and instant love forever, plus amazing sex. Voila. BTW, no condoms were used in the writing of this book.

No. Gag. I’m all for heteronormative romance or erotica, I just want something original. This was not it.

What’s more disappointing is this the prequel to what is supposed to be a very dark book following the kidnapping of Emily. The premise sounds good, but I won’t read it. Not after this disaster.

Leave a Reply

