Father’s Day

Father’s Day

Yesterday was Father’s Day and I’d like to tell you a little about my dad.

Growing up, I did not have a good relationship with my father. He was distant, and cold and more than a little mean. As a teenager, I was told often that I was a disappointment and that my worth depended on my grades at school. So, I did what I thought was best and failed all my classes. We fought all the time and nothing scared me more than getting one of his “looks” – nothing could make me cry faster.

I left home at an early age and drifted through one bad marriage after another, always feeling that my father disapproved of me. I felt like the black sheep of the family.

After cutting ties with my family for over a decade, my dad was not who I missed – I missed my mother and my sisters and thought about them all the time. Not my father. I could have cared less about him.

Funny thing how life changes us though. Once I was back in contact with my family, my relationship with my dad changed. I was able to see past my own problems and see him for who he is – just a man who did the best he could. He is so welcoming and accepting of my partner and the running joke in my family is that she is his favorite daughter now. When I call home, my dad and I will talk for 45 minutes before my mom gets on the phone. It’s such a change from the man I remember growing up with and I feel so lucky that I have this relationship now. He told me yesterday that the chocolate Easter bunny we got him is almost gone as he has been hoarding it. After repeating it several times he asked if I understood his subtle hint! No problem Dad, I will find you another bunny and send it.

He’s still a maniac who won’t slow down at 70-something years old and still stubborn and sarcastic as hell. I’m lucky to have him, warts and all.

Leave a Reply

