Mental Health Recovery Isn’t Always Daisies, Puppies, and Rainbows (And that’s OK)

Mental Health Recovery Isn’t Always Daisies, Puppies, and Rainbows (And that’s OK)

One of the best things I’ve seen written about mental health recovery …

Let's Queer Things Up!

marypoppinsA lot of folks are surprised when I tell them that, despite having a great combination of meds and coping skills, bipolar recovery, for me, does not look like complete and total stability.

I still have ups and downs, and sometimes those mood swings are more intense than you’d expect for someone who calls this phase of their disorder “remission.” I wallow, and I cry, and sometimes it takes a minute before I’m back on my feet.

I say this because I want people to understand something: There’s this idea that mental health recovery is supposed to be some kind of fantastic, magical place where we never experience a negative emotion ever again. But it’s a myth, and a lousy myth at that.

I will probably always feel more intensely than neurotypical folks do. I will have some inexplicable sadness from time to time. I might find myself anxious about…

View original post 1,250 more words

Leave a Reply

