Introvert

Introvert

Do you consider yourself to be introverted or extroverted?

I am an introvert. I come from a family of introverts. We are all pretty self-contained.

My partner is an extrovert. She is the type of person who commands attention, is the life of the party, and is so much fun to be around. I think she’s amazing and am perfectly content to sit on the sidelines and watch her shine. We call it “putting on the K show” and it’s come in handy at times (for example when cutting the tension with my meth-teeth extended family).

This past weekend, we went to dinner at a friend’s house. He lives with his parents and the five of us had a cookout. They are all extroverts (in my opinion).

The dinner table got LOUD, just from people talking over one another, not from any emotion. In those situations, I honestly just listen and observe. I don’t feel comfortable yelling my opinions and thoughts into the melee. Plus, our friend’s father is a little hard-of-hearing so he was even louder. In the middle of it all, he turns to me and shouts, “Are YOU an introvert??? Is that why you don’t talk?”

Sudden silence at the table where I sit stammering. I hate being put on the spot and attention brought to me like that. While I’m stammering away, he interrupts me to yell about how he had to read a book about introverts because he didn’t know how to relate to one of his kids.

It was kind of hilariously awful.

2 thoughts on “Introvert

  1. I’m introverted too with a mostly extroverted family. Holidays are really exhausting ’cause they sit together 24/7 and I’m like “I need to be alone! I need to recharge…!”
    It’s nice he tries to understand (I think?) but that wording makes me think we are a totally different species. Still, made me laugh a little.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m pretty introverted too. It takes me a while to really be myself around people. Of course, once I am comfortable I can get a little loud, but not too crazy or anything. I feel you about being put on the spot though, unless I offer willingly, it makes me want to shrink away into a corner.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

