Down the Rabbit Hole

Down the Rabbit Hole

24611749  “Down the Rabbit Hole” by by J.D. Robb, Mary Blayney, Elaine Fox, Mary Kay McComas, R.C. Ryan

Synopsis: Some of your favorite New York Times bestselling authors present five all-new stories told through the looking glass—including a new Eve Dallas novella!

You’re late for a very important date…

Enter a wonderland of mesmerizing tales. It’s a place that’s neither here nor there, where things are never quite as they seem. Inspired by Lewis Carroll’s whimsical masterpiece, ranging from the impossible to the mad to the curiouser, these stories will have you absolutely off your head.

Don’t be afraid to follow them…

DOWN THE RABBIT HOLE

*******

2 out of 5 stars

I was so looking forward to reading this and loved the idea of continuing with the “Alice in Wonderland” theme. Unfortunately the book just disappoints. I eagerly read the first story, forced my way through the second, and stopped halfway through the third. Number four and five never even made it – my apologies if they are terrific. I’ll never know.

Let me focus on what I did enjoy. “Wonderment in Death” by J.D. Robb. I’m a die hard fan of the “In Death” series. I love reading Eve and Roarke and while some have said that the same plot formula gets old, it works for me. The books are always a quick and fun read and I can always look forward to some plot twists.

“Wonderment” definitely delivers. We have characters who have remade themselves into dark, perverted images of the Mad Hatter, the Rabbit, the March Hare, and the Dormouse with the intent to take and to kill. It’s up to Eve to stop them after she find what appears to be a murder suicide, but as we all know, in Wonderland, nothing is what it seems.

The characters are fully fleshed out in this short story, but I’m not sure that anyone unfamiliar with the “In Death” series would pick up or understand all the nuances of the story. Because I am, and I loved it, I give it 5 out of 5 stars.

The rest of the book … just no. I could not enjoy it and felt it was a let down after that first story.

I loved the cover, and the symbolism of the hat!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Down the Rabbit Hole

Leave a Reply

