Things No One Will Tell Fat Girls

Things No One Will Tell Fat Girls

24796533 “Things No One Will Tell Fat Girls: A Handbook for Unapologetic Living” by Jes Baker

Synopsis: Things No One Will Tell Fat Girls is a manifesto and call to arms for people of all sizes and ages. With her trademark wit, veteran blogger and advocate Jes Baker calls people everywhere to embrace a body-positive worldview, changing perceptions about weight, and making mental health a priority.
Alongside notable guest essayists, Jes shares personal experiences paired with in-depth research in a way that is approachable, digestible, and empowering. Things No One Will Tell Fat Girls is an invitation to reject fat prejudice, fight body-shaming at the hands of the media, and join this life-changing movement with one step: change the world by loving your body.

Among the many Things No One Will Tell Fat Girls that you don’t want to miss:
1. It’s Possible to Love Your Body (Today. Now.)
2. You Can Train Your Brain to Play Nice
3. Your Weight Is Not a Reflection Of Your Worth
4. Changing Your Tumblr Feed Will Change Your Life
5. Salad Will Not Get You to Heaven
6. Cheesecake Will Not Send You to Hell

If you’re a person with a body, this book is for you.

*****

5 out of 5 stars

It’s not often that I review nonfiction and the book has to be really special to do so.

This book is really special.

I’m a huge fan of Jes Baker and have followed her blog  The Militant Baker for a long time. She was one of the first people I started following who was so completely herself when it came to her mental health and her size. I admire her so much for being so vocal and visible in the body-positive movement.

“Things No One will tell Fat Girls” is not necessarily a book that only fat girls should read. Or girls. Or anyone fat. Basically, if you have a body at all, you should read this book.

The book is filled with essays from Jes’ own life and guest essays from other body-positive activists like Virgie Tovar that make it such a personal read. I don’t know of any person who has not experienced an instance of some sort of negativity towards their body. I remember when I was a small child my mother constantly dieting (she’s bulimic) to the point her hair fell out. I remember being told by a neighbor to stop biting my fingernails because no one would want to marry a girl with hands that looked like that. I remember starving myself because a boy I wanted to notice me only liked skinny girls. I remember an old lover criticizing my body and my reaction was not to tell them to fuck off, but to try and fix those perceived flaws. And, I remember how much all of that hurt.

The main philosophy running through this book is that all bodies are good. All bodies are good, and have worth whether they be fat, skinny, able bodied, disabled, straight, queer, and anything else you care to label. This alone was so impactful for me. To read that the way I look – my shape, my size, my gender, my everything is good and right was amazing. It’s nothing that I could not have come up with on my own, but to see it in print was something else.

Sex positive, body positive, brash and unapologetic is how this is written and how Jes Baker lives. She is a little bit my hero and a lot of who I aspire to be.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

